Skip to main content

About Us

Faculty of Agriculture & Forestry

The Faculty of Agriculture was established in 1977 offering a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Agriculture. A Diploma in Forestry was introduced in 1987 and the B.Sc. in Forestry in 1996. The Forestry Unit was initially under the Office of the Vice-Chancellor and was placed under the Faculty of Agriculture in November 1989. The curricula for both the Diploma and the B.Sc. in Forestry were extensively revised in September 2016. The Faculty now offers a M.Sc. in Agro-Technology and Business.

The Faculty of Agriculture was renamed the Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry in September, 2002. Simultaneously, the Forestry Unit was upgraded to the Department of Forestry. To improve the quality of forestry education in Guyana, the UK Department for International Development provided funding through the Guyana Forestry Commission Support Project for a building for the Department of Forestry. This building was officially opened and handed over to the Faculty on October 25, 2002.

Over the years the student population has grown significantly and with the offering of new programmes it is anticipated that this pattern will continue.

The Research Station was launched on April 14, 2004. It is located on the Turkeyen Campus immediately east of the Faculty buildings.

Graduates of the Faculty continue to make major contribution to the agricultural, fisheries and forestry sectors both locally and regionally. They are well grounded to fill key positions in private and public enterprises at both middle and senior management levels.

In this new millennium, the Faculty, with the support of both staff and students, looks forward to meeting its new challenges.